MY 10 Favorite Hair Must Haves

10musthaves

I have been natural for about 3-4 years (approximately because my natural hair journey was kinda spontaneous). While I have had some ups, some downs and even a few setbacks, there have been certain hair products and hair tools that have been very reliable through out my journey.  This list may or may not work for everyone, which is why I made sure to call it MY Favorites. I also tried to add items that are not on other lists, so as to not be repetitive.

This list is not in any specific order.

 

  1. Hair Towels

hairtowels

Candy Twists By Bonbons Cheveux Boutique

Many people swear by hair towels and I too love the convenience of hair towels, but my hair is prone to frizz and so the microfiber type is a no go for me. I happened upon some Hair T-Shirt Towels  online and fell in love. You have the convenience of the microfiber hair wrap but with a t-shirt texture.

 

2. Detangling Brush

tanglebrush

There are a lot of detangling brushes out there in the market, with some specifically catering to curly hair. And while I think it would be fair to assume that most naturals’ favorite detangler is the Denman brush (which I do still use when my hair is REALLY tangled from neglect). MY favorite brush is the Michel Mercier. I tried the tangle teaser and it slipped out my hands which made it hard for me to use and the detangling to me was just ok . And although I do like the Denman brush for it’s detangling powers, my curls and coils come out clumped together and super POPPING when I use the Michel Mercier. My waves are also more uniformed (which I love) when putting my hair in a sleek, wet bun.

 

3. Eco Styler Gel

91jsua74vsl-_sy450_

I have tried many gels and have even liked a few but I always come back to my tried and true. It’s cheap and it still gets the job done and you can also purchase it in huge sizes so you don’t run out quickly. Not much else can be said, because I know many women who feel the same way. Although I  would like to get my hands on the coconut and flax seed versions…

 

4. Goody Ouchless Ponytailers

goodyouchless.png

 

Through trial and error (which usually involved my hair being tangled in the tie itself), I  purchased different hair ties to no avail, until I found these. Sometime later the satin hair ties, which are really popular came out and I bought a bunch of those. I ended up not liking them as much as these ouchless ponytailers (you can see the texture of these hair ties in the picture) and went back to my tried and true. It seems that what tends to work for most doesn’t work or at the very least, is not the best for me. These ties also dry with no issues which is good since I like to wet bun a lot. So as long these hair ties are available these will be my go to.

 

5.  Vitamin E Oil

aus-114_1z

Ok, so to some I maybe late, but I am just now getting hip to the funky fresh goodness of vitamin e oil (yes it’s that good, lol). I happened upon this oil by accident and my hair has been loving it ever since. My hair seems to retain moisture much better when I use it. And it imparts A LOT of shine and smoothness to my hair. I either mix it into my favorite deep conditioner before I apply it or I will squeeze a little bit of this oil over the top of my hair after I have applied my deep conditioner and smooth it in. It also makes detangling noticeably easier. It’s a very rich and smooth oil, so a little goes a long way.

 

6. Honey’s Handmade Bentonite & Sea Clay Deep Conditioning Mask

c0cc832e-30e2-4d2b-988c-0e1caf05c758_1-cd5e2e91851932a6ea015a883e5363da

 

I already did a review about this deep condition mask which you can find here. I highly recommend it for when your hair is in need of some quick moisture and hair pampering with a little detoxification mixed in.

 

 

7.  Eden Body Works Edge Control

16527355

Hand’s down, (for me) this is the best edge control. It does its job, which is to smooth and hold the hair in place, impart shine and keep it moisturized. It also doesn’t leave any nasty residue behind. I have tried other popular edge controls but they just don’t cut it for my hair. So this thus far, is my tried and true.

 

8. SheaMoisture Low Porosity Baobab & Tea Tree Oils Protein-Free Conditioner

282308c47a21d77a4f73ef52ec3e7177

I previously planned to do a review on this product, and I still plan to. Once the review is done, I will update this post accordingly. But in the meantime, I have to tell you that my hair LOVES this product. I mean really LOVES it. This is my favorite conditioner from the shea moisture line which says a lot since there are many that I love.

 

9. Rhassoul Clay

578

When I have the free time and happen to also be in the mood to mix up my own detoxifying deep condition mask, I prefer to use Rhassoul clay. I do not trust my self to mix  bentonite clay after using it incorrectly (this is after previously using it correctly several times). So due to carelessness, I suffered a setback. Once I switched to Rhassoul clay, it actually gave me a more preferred result, when I mixed it myself vs the bentonite clay and it’s also a lot gentler. I love to mix it with either a good deep conditioner or shea butter depending on my hair needs and of I course add some vitamin e oil.

 

10. Ox or Sheep Horn Combs

13381_156529871_product

Picture from Evolatree.com

I don’t comb my hair a lot, but when I do I only use Ox or Sheep horn combs. I also use these combs when styling my daughters hairs and it has saved us A LOT of heartache (for them) and headaches (for me). My girls are extremely tender-headed and so the amount of tears have gone down drastically since incorporating these combs into their hair regimen. I have several sizes: large big wide tooth, some like the picture above, a rat tail, and some with no wood at all, which is only the horn carved into a comb.

 

 

I hope this list has been helpful, and maybe you even learned something new. Also remember that works for some may not work for others. So be wise and make sure figure out what’s best for your. God bless!

 

 

candysignature

Leave a comment